Housekeeping, Websites, and E-mail

Anyone who had been looking for the website for the Whispering Crane Institute this last week may have had some problems.

Problems like finding it. It wasn’t there-it was gone. The data had vanished into the internet tubes out there in data space.

How’d it happen?

I got no idea.

Anyway without boring anyone who is actually reading this. I have been able to actually get something put back up there with the help(very slow help) of my hosting site Midphase.

Which is actually the point of this post.

I must say that I am not going to reccommend using Midphase as a hosting site.

My site was down for close to a week and they were very slow to restore my database and allow to “start over” in building the site from scratch. I did not want to start from scratch but that is the position I was put into.

I really doubt that I will re-up my agreement with Midphase, especially if certain admin. issues are not resolved.

E-mail

The only reason I did not leave last week was my e-mail. I did not want an interruption of my e-mail so I felt I was held hostage to this host.

Something to think about if you decide to run your own site, and what importance you put on e-mail and how it looks, is it dedicated to your company name, etc.

For you small independent designers out there look around and be smart about your choice. How you brand yourself is very important.

The template

I also have decided to keep it blog-style and use the same template that I am using here at WordPress.com, it’s called Mistlook by Sadish. I like the style and the layout and will stay with it for awhile.

Anyway lots to do over at the website, lots of work to do.

One response to “Housekeeping, Websites, and E-mail

This is the place to comment.

