AX-MEN

Ax-Men starting tonight at 10:00 Eastern pm, on History Channel. It’s on DTV 269.

Incredible look at the profession of logging on the mountain, the big mountains.

There is some other video on the History Channel.

I have a huge interest in logging. My family did some tree work, Dad and Grandpa did a little cutting . . . nothing remotely close to this level mind you. Another way to pick up extra money, Dad and on of my Great-Uncles used to blow stumps with 1/2 sticks of dynamite-a long time ago.

I actually got to witness the stump blowing, quite a thrill for a kid. I was always warned to stay at a great distance and be careful not to get hurt, because if I did.

. . . if you get hurt your Mom is gonna kill both of us.

A couple of years later in my youth another big moment with trees/wood occurred. When I picked up my 1st chain saw I was 12. The absolutely very 1st thing my Dad told me is that if you get hurt your Mom is gonna kill both of us.

. . . if you get hurt your Mom is gonna kill both of us.

My Mom didn’t know about either of these event until 30 or so years later. hearing about these events did not thrill my Mom.

One other thing, My Great-Grandfather(Dad’s-Dad) was killed in a logging accident in 1913. This accident made my Grandfather and his 10 siblings orphans. My Grandfather was 13.

What this led to was a different direction for the Anderson family, and a changed path to where we are today.

Today as I sit here high and dry, safe and sound. A huge and grateful thanks to those who came before me.

This is the place to comment.

